• May 23, 2022

The Indian Pharmaceutical Association (Gujarat State Branch), Indian Drug Manufacturers Association (Gujarat State Board) and L.M. College of Pharmacy had organise a technical education programme on “Quality Control of Drugs” on 6th May 2022 at Ahmedabad University Auditorium from 3:20 pm to 6:30 pm.

The programme started with Dr. Ketan Ranch welcoming all the distinguished guests and delegates with a scintillating quote “Learning is a treasure that will follow its owner everywhere”, which was followed with a devotional prayer by Ms. Bijal Panchal (M.Pharm Student, LMCP). Then the chief guest Dr. Rajeev Raghuvanshi (Secretary-cum-Director, Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission) was florally greeted by Dr. Mahesh Chhabria (Principal, LMCP).

The event had been divided into two parts. The first part involved Dr. Raghuvanshi, the keynote speaker, expressing his views on the “Role of IPC and IP in establishing and ensuring high quality standards of drugs and pharmaceuticals”. He gave an overview of the Indian pharmaceutical industry and stated the role of IPC in regulatory affairs; pharmaceutical standards and testing being quintessential for the quality control of pharmaceuticals. Following that, he stressed upon the need to lay more focus on the “Dissolution specifications” which are directly linked to the efficacy of the formulation, rather than the “Disintegration specifications”; this view was supported by the case studies of Albendazole and Itraconazole tablets. He concluded by mentioning the issues faced by IPC. After that, the chief guest and two senior analysts Shri Dhananjay Brahmbhatt & Shri Harsh Ray were felicitated.

The second part involved a panel discussion on “Compliance to IP: Challenges and Opportunities”. The respective panelists were Dr. Raghuvanshi (Director, IPC) Dr. Viranchi Shah (National President, IDMA) Dr. Sushil Jaiswal (Executive director, Quality & Regulatory affairs, Torrent Pharma Ltd.) Dr. Robin Singh (Principal Scientific officer, IPC) Mr. Paresh Parmar (Quality Manager, FDL, Govt. of Gujarat) Dr. Srinivas Savle (Director, AIC-LMCP) Mr. Gaurang Oza (CEO, Vaibhav Analytical Services) and Dr. J.B. Dave (President, IPA-GSB) as the moderator. Subsequently, a Q&A session was conducted and the panelists were felicitated at the end for gracing the occasion by sparing their valuable time.

Dr. Palak Parikh concluded the event with the expression of gratitude and Dr. Praful Bharadia delivered the vote of thanks.The programme culminated with the national anthem and high tea. The day was indeed graced by the presence of plethora of eminent personalities. The programme was very well appreciated by students, scholars, scientists, faculties and industry personnel alike.

Reported By- Jimil Gandhi, Surbhi Koul, Dhruvi Thakkar, Sneha Karkera, Juhi Patil

Compiled By- Jimil Gandhi

Edited By – Dr. Radhika Pandya

Photography By- Jimil Gandhi, Juhi Patil


  • Start Date:May 23, 2022
  • End Date:May 23, 2022